Don't nerf azoth (and other things)::the azoth thing should have been left out

I wanted to clarify up heref: this is not primarily about azoth. It’s about losing the challenges in a game.

Please ignore the azoth parts. They are obscuring my main point. I am not removing them because it might seem that I’m trying to hide what’s already been said.

Playing mmo’s I have only been in a raid perhaps 3 times since I started playing mmo’s. Only once did I suffer from crafting fever and attempt to level every crafting skill set. While trying to farm bosses and dungeons over the years I never lasted very long at all. In no game have I obtained the top tier armor, weapons, or other gear. All of these things have been done by choice.

Simply put I am not a hardcore player.

Yet even then the continuing reduction of challenge in this game makes me increasingly troubled. Challenge creates opportunities for fun and yes for disappointment. Removing challenges from the game is a downward spiral.

People have left games saying it just wasn’t fun anymore for a number of reasons. One of those is the removal of challenge. Often they don’t even realize that this is the case.

The other part of challenge is consequences.

Open world bosses being nerfed. How are they open world bosses if two or three people can take it down?

Azoth travel is not simply being adjusted but nerfed rather hard. Hopping all over the map almost freely has no consequences with the removal of azoth. Travel then means nothing. It becomes less than dull.

Having to manage your azoth is like managing your inventory. It’s part of a crucial set of background mechanics in any game that have costs, require forethought and planning. You can’t touch, taste, or feel in a game. You can think. It’s the most direct and important engagement a game can make aside from providing emotional experiences.

When there is nothing left to think about (or feel) what is left?

6 Likes