How/Why duping works, and why it is so hard to correct

I wanted to help the community, and maybe some of the devs, out by explaining how dupes happen and why they are so complicated to find and fix.

If you are looking for instructions, you won’t get those. Sorry, you are out of luck. This won’t teach you how to dupe items in the game.

Rather, I am a developer who works at the hardware level and I am going to teach you why the software can sometimes copy things. This is fairly specialized knowledge, so it may take a second, but at the end hopefully everyone can group together with some knowledge about how this happens and how it can be tracked/fixed.

First we need to go over how software actually modifies values. A computer can never work with a value in memory directly. This is the root of the problem.

Let me explain how a computer actually works with values using an example of gold. Let’s say you have 100 gold and that is represented by a memory address with the value of 100 in it. Now if the game wants to subtract 1 gold from you the following process must occur.

The value in the memory address is COPIED into a register on the processor.
The processor then subtracts 1 from the value in the register resulting in 99 IN THE REGISTER.
The computer then COPIES the value from the register back into the memory address.

This all happens blazingly fast, often in less than 1 millionth of a second, but it does take time. And, the game is not a single thread. So let’s consider the following.

A thread in the game wants to subtract 1 gold from your total, and another thread wants to add 1 gold to your total AT THE EXACT SAME TIME.

In theory 100 - 1 + 1 = 100 Right?

So thread “A” COPIES the value of 100 from the memory location with your total into a register.
Right after that thread “B” COPIES the value of 100 from the memory location with your total into a different register.