I enjoy New World a lot

The graphics are great, and the gameplay mechanics are next level compared to anything before. Leveling is grindy, but also fun due to the mechanics and a good progression motivation.

My background is 2nd Gen MMOs: WoW Classic, Saga of Ryzom, Tabula Rasa, Guild Wars 1. Those rebranded copies of WoW (mechanics wise) that came after that i skipped.

Now this is finally a new step with lots of new ideas put into a game.

What i do not get is this very loud and toxic part of the community that reacts to every little change with an outcry like someone stole their left leg.

What is up with this entitlement? Is it the offspring of the metaphoric Karen, that inevitably had to join online communities at some point?

First they think they are threatening anyone by publicly posting “i am going to stop playing if you do not do AS I SAY”. Then when they don’t see the “success” of their masterplan (because no one gives a f**k) they organize a review bombing. That is like saying “If I am not going to have fun with it NO ONE SHOULD”. Hurting the playerbase even more.

Stomping their little feet to the ground, not understanding how they are not CEO of all decisions made for New World.

Guess what, this is not your birthday party, where everything resolves around you, this is an MMORPG. The first “M” stands for “massively”. Which means its not just you. Its tens of thousands of other players too. You are trying to make the game adapt to your playstyle, instead of adapting your playstyle to the game. No game has ever been or will ever be perfectly balanced, it is a constant change in every MMO. Even lacking this knowledge back then the community was way more calm and less toxic about changes. We were just happy to be there, enjoying the parts we can enjoy instead of hating as much as possible. METAs changed even before the term META was there.

If you want a game with minimal challenge that is not evolving over time go play farmville.