It shouldn't be possible to dupe items in TP or housing or by trade

I don’t understand the underlying architecture here. Why isn’t there a double-entry accounting system to say the least. How can the TP, or a house, or player trade, create an item? The item creation process should be completely 100% separate. The TP, house, etc. seem to be simple buckets that at any time can create items from nothing out of thin air simply by believing they contain another item. I don’t understand how that is possible. Can someone explain? Amazon?

2 Likes

cause its a series of create game object and destroy game object every time an object is transferred

There’s a very simplified answer here. Spaghetti code. Get rid of your original devs in place of cheaper ones who have to figure out the mess of code themselves then everything they do they end up breaking something else.

2 Likes

Its like this for all game engines from what i have seen, be it Unity, Unreal, Cry or even god forbid lumberyard.
But in saying that, it all comes down to the coding and cross references…

I know you’re joking about spaghetti coding, but… it legit looks like they’re using node based coding with how bad this game has been coded.

1 Like

My guess is that item transactions in this game are not atomic so it is possible to lose track of changes made but not yet committed. Basic stuff.

That’s not a joke they likely have a very messy and unorganized code that when they replaced their devs the new programmers have trouble figuring out existing code due to how jumbled it is. This would explain why everytime they do one thing, they break another. It’s definitely spaghetti code.

1 Like

ahh i see.

When i hear spaghetti coding, i instantly think node based coding as it look like strands of spaghetti.
i.e:

But thats my bad for always having called node based coding spaghetti. Not how everyone else uses the term. i was being narrow minded and i apologize.