New World is a good game

I’m 60 years old. I started playing video games with Pong in the early 70s. I was there on launch day for Meridian 59 in 1996. There are few mmorpgs I haven’t played since then.

There is a lot of overwrought hyperbole complaining that New World’s launch and current state is the "worst in mmo history. It seems there are a few knowledge holes that need patching.

Remember Vanguard: Saga of Heroes? No? THAT was a bad launch. Killed the game in fact. Oh, and don’t forget that Final Fantasy XIV, one of THE most successful mmorpgs today, was so bad on launch that the DEVS shut it down.

Elder Scrolls Online had to have an extensive makeover. Fallout 76 was so dead that the devs had to add npcs just to keep the trees company.

The list of mmos that have had FAR worse launches than New World is staggering, yet for some reason a large portion of the player base seem determined to paint NW as “buh-ruh, the worst ever!”

New World’s environments are beautiful. The variety and density of foliage are unmatched in any mmo I’m aware of, with Fallout 76 coming a close second. In most games, you have “tree_01”, “tree_02”, and “tree_03” making up entire forests, just variously sized and oriented differently. NW’s forests look and feel like forests.

The crafting system is well designed, and guarantees that lower=level resources will always maintain value in the market. Rich level 60s don’t want to be off grinding an iron ore route somewhere, while a new player can put in the work and make some gold. Trivializing low level content and activities kills mmos.

AGS’s commitment to keeping NW pvp-focused is the biggest weakness. There is a truly great mmorpg here, but sadly many traditional pve mmorpg players won’t even give it a try because of that focus. Many of us carry memories of getting ganked every time we walked out of the tavern, then being corpse-camped for hours by some giggling cretin. That is NOT fun.