Per amazon games support, names are locked to your account for 90 days after you delete the character. There is currently no way to unlink names from your account, so your friends won’t be able to use a name for 90 days even after you relinquish it.
So, yeah. Don’t do that, because the name lock in this game is crazy long. Figured I’d drop that here because I hadn’t seen this information anywhere else.