Questing in this game is easily the biggest deterrent to keep players playing

I’m a new player and saw the dev video on how they are taking feedback and said the forums are the best way to do it. So here is a new player’s perspective.

I want to like this game, I really do but it feels like the game fights with me trying to like it. I have been playing MMOs for over 10 years and New World without a doubt has the worst questing system I’ve ever seen. My 6 friends stopped playing around 10 hours in because the quests were so boring. I can break it down as to why:

1. All quests have an insane running distance. Most quests require me to walk 5-10 minutes to complete a very basic quest such as kill x or loot x chests. They are simply too far away.
  2. The quests are way too basic. 3 hours in and I have done all the variety of quests. Its like a mold of 4 quests that are on par with vanilla wow in their simplicity. It has the dialogue system in place to allow for good storytelling and unique quests, yet they are all so basic. Unacceptable for a triple A game in 2021.
  3. The main story tells you nothing of the world. I wanted to dig into the world, in its lore and history, yet all quests are so vague about the world I’m wondering if there is even any depth to the narrative. Dialogue doesn’t even allow you to ask additional questions.
  4. The quests don’t scale to your level. The main story will go from recommended level 9, to 15, to 12, and then to 17. What?? Why is this even like this? Just go from a linear level and calculate xp given from the previous quests. Do the game want me to level from the main story and some side quests? Or does it want me to just grind board quests that are all the same thing? Between the boring main story/ side quests, and the insane walking distance, a second monitor is almost required so you aren’t bored to death playing.