Task Manager Shows CPU Usage at 100%

Hello! I’m running on a pretty competent laptop (11th gen i7, 3060), but Task Manager shows my CPU usage at 100% all the time while the game is running, which seems extreme.

It worried me at first, but both HWInfo and HWMonitor are showing “total CPU usage” at closer to 30%-40%, and my CPU (and GPU) temps are both pretty solid at an average of 65-70c. Performance in game is not bad either, sits around 60FPS uncapped.

I have rebooted my PC and relogged.

Is Task Manager simply wrong here? Should I just disregard the reading, and trust what I’m showing in HWInfo/HWmonitor, especially since my temps and performance are solid?

I’m a semi-PC noob, so I appreciate the peace of mind!

Thanks.

3 Likes

Has to be some type of bug. I run perfect out in the world no CPU issues 100+fps. Go into a town. CPU load shoots to 98% and 40 fps I7-7700k & 3070

1 Like

I think you’re right about task manager just being wrong because I’m having the same issue here AND I have this issue with Red Dead Redemption 2, could be the same “bug”.

Hello all,

Im sorry for the issues you currently have. Please check the following: Basic Troubleshooting Tips

• If you run into issues launching the game and your system meets the minimum requirements, be sure to verify the integrity of the game client files using the steps here: Steam File Integrity Check.
  • Confirm that you are using the most recent GPU drivers for your Graphics Card (AMD ) (NVIDIA ).
  • Confirm that you have the most recent updates installed for Windows 10.
  • Check that you have the most recent BIOS updates installed (important for newer AMD Chipsets and Motherboards).
  • Try a clean boot of Windows: How to perform a clean boot in Windows . (This will disable all non-essential programs from starting and test if there’s any background programs causing a conflict with the game.)

Common Issues

Launch Errors Connectivity Graphics & Performance Crashes